<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	xmlns:georss="http://www.georss.org/georss" xmlns:geo="http://www.w3.org/2003/01/geo/wgs84_pos#" xmlns:media="http://search.yahoo.com/mrss/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>The Palore blog! &#187; SMB</title>
	<atom:link href="http://palore.wordpress.com/tag/smb/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://palore.wordpress.com</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sun, 19 Apr 2009 09:05:01 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.com/</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<cloud domain='palore.wordpress.com' port='80' path='/?rsscloud=notify' registerProcedure='' protocol='http-post' />
<image>
		<url>http://www.gravatar.com/blavatar/e15d6ab8e05b80de14ad77a14be03cf6?s=96&#038;d=http://s.wordpress.com/i/buttonw-com.png</url>
		<title>The Palore blog! &#187; SMB</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com</link>
	</image>
			<item>
		<title>SEL Column &#8211; Where to Find Opportunities</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/sel-column-where-to-find-opportunities/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/sel-column-where-to-find-opportunities/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 19 Apr 2009 09:05:01 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Land]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=170</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Check out our latest SEL column on how to find the right market and vertical for launching new services for SMBs, featuring a chart that shows the penetration of SMB advertisers on leading IYP sites in 8 verticals, covering 8 major cities: http://searchengineland.com/where-is-the-opportunity-17232.
       <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=170&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p>Check out our latest SEL column on how to find the right market and vertical for launching new services for SMBs, featuring a chart that shows the penetration of SMB advertisers on leading IYP sites in 8 verticals, covering 8 major cities: <a href="http://searchengineland.com/where-is-the-opportunity-17232">http://searchengineland.com/where-is-the-opportunity-17232</a>.</p>
  <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/170/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/170/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/170/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/170/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/170/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/170/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/170/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/170/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/170/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/170/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=170&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/sel-column-where-to-find-opportunities/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>SEL Column &#8211; SMBs with Claimed Profiles</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/palore-column-on-search-engine-land/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/palore-column-on-search-engine-land/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 26 Jan 2009 15:34:19 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[claimed businesses]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales leads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Land]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=153</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Our latest Search Engine Land column discusses how &#8220;SMBs Claim Their Online Business Profiles&#8221;. In this post we present a new target group of SMBs we call &#8220;Seekers&#8221;, SMBs who haven&#8217;t quite made the leap to online advertising, but are performing some kind of online activity.
Interested, informed, not quite sold but not adverse to buying, [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=153&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p>Our latest Search Engine Land column discusses how <a title="http://searchengineland.com/smbs-claim-their-online-business-profiles-16156" href="http://searchengineland.com/smbs-claim-their-online-business-profiles-16156">&#8220;SMBs Claim Their Online Business Profiles&#8221;</a>. In this post we present a new target group of SMBs we call <strong>&#8220;Seekers&#8221;</strong>, SMBs who haven&#8217;t quite made the leap to online advertising, but are performing some kind of online activity.</p>
<blockquote><p><em>Interested, informed, not quite sold but not adverse to buying</em>, <strong>seekers </strong>are <strong>SMBs </strong>who may just prove to be great prospects for new online ad products. Armed with some knowledge of online advertising, they may just need a little help from the professionals to start engaging in more elaborate online marketing activities, and more importantly, to start spending money. Initial tests show they do indeed <strong>convert better than the average sales lead</strong>, and with up to <strong>10%</strong> of SMBs falling in this category, there may be quite an opportunity here.</p></blockquote>
  <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/153/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/153/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/153/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/153/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/153/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/153/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/153/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/153/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/153/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/153/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=153&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/palore-column-on-search-engine-land/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>SMBs’ PPC Ad Spend on Search Engines</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/12/14/smbs%e2%80%99-ppc-ad-spend-on-search-engines/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/12/14/smbs%e2%80%99-ppc-ad-spend-on-search-engines/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 14 Dec 2008 15:09:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[local search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[search engines]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=143</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[We&#8217;ve been collecting and analyzing ad spend data of SMBs on various local, vertical and IYP sites for over a year. Last month we started looking at SMBs who also advertise on search engines (i.e. businesses who bought PPC ads on search engines).  
We looked at over 3000 SMBs who advertise online, on different websites, out [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=143&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p>We&#8217;ve been collecting and analyzing ad spend data of SMBs on various local, vertical and IYP sites for over a year. Last month we started looking at SMBs who also advertise on search engines (i.e. businesses who bought PPC ads on search engines).  </p>
<p>We looked at over 3000 SMBs who advertise online, on different websites, out of which we focused on 300 businesses who also advertised on search engines in the past 5 months. The chart shows the average monthly ad spend of SMBs on search engines over a period of 5 months.</p>
<p><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-147" title="search-engine-ad-spend-of-smbs1" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/search-engine-ad-spend-of-smbs1.png?w=451&#038;h=435" alt="search-engine-ad-spend-of-smbs1" width="451" height="435" /></p>
<p>The dramatic drop represented in the chart is probably larger than the actual drop in local search ad budget since we filtered out nationwide chains and all SMBs with more than one office location. The businesses represented in the chart are small businesses where the decision making process is swift, as opposed to large corporations, who have a longer decision making process. Additionally, changes in advertising patterns/behavior appear more quickly when it comes to PPC since PPC campaigns can be modified at any give time, unlike annual advertising contracts.</p>
<p>We cannot be sure of the cause for the significant decrease in dollars spent in the months of September and October. However, we did happen to come across another chart, the similarity of which to our own cannot be ignored&#8230;</p>
<p> <img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-148" title="nasdaq3" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/nasdaq3.png?w=451&#038;h=419" alt="nasdaq3" width="451" height="419" /></p>
  <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/143/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/143/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/143/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/143/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/143/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/143/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/143/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/143/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/143/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/143/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=143&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/12/14/smbs%e2%80%99-ppc-ad-spend-on-search-engines/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/search-engine-ad-spend-of-smbs1.png" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">search-engine-ad-spend-of-smbs1</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/nasdaq3.png" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">nasdaq3</media:title>
		</media:content>
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Online Presence of SMBs and Monthly Ad Spend</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/09/18/online-presence-of-smbs-and-monthly-ad-spend/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/09/18/online-presence-of-smbs-and-monthly-ad-spend/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 18 Sep 2008 06:54:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online presence]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales leads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=129</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A couple of months ago we published a chart that suggested that SMBs who claim or update their business listings on various online directories advertise more than those who do not. In a recent sales leads project for a customer we looked at businesses from various categories in the Denver metropolitan area and examined another [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=129&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p>A couple of months ago we published a chart that suggested that SMBs who claim or update their business listings on various online directories advertise more than those who do not. In a recent sales leads project for a customer we looked at businesses from various categories in the Denver metropolitan area and examined another feature of online presence of SMBs &#8211; whether or not the advertisers have websites.</p>
<p>We looked at over 2,800 Denver auto dealers and repair shops. Below is a chart that represents the breakdown of advertisers, with and without a website, to low, medium, and high-end spenders.</p>
<div class="mceTemp"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-130" style="border:black 1px solid;" title="Ad_Spend_by_Auto_Dealers_Repair_Shops" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/ad-spend-by-auto-dealers-repair-shops.png?w=450&#038;h=457" alt="" width="450" height="457" /></div>
<div class="mceTemp"> </div>
<div class="mceTemp">The above chart suggests that businesses with websites spend more on online advertising than businesses without websites. Indeed, we have recently been receiving feedback from our clients, who are finding it easier to sell online advertising services to SMBs who have websites.</div>
<div class="mceTemp"> </div>
<img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/categories/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/tags/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/129/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/129/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/129/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/129/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/129/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/129/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=129&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/09/18/online-presence-of-smbs-and-monthly-ad-spend/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/ad-spend-by-auto-dealers-repair-shops.png" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Ad_Spend_by_Auto_Dealers_Repair_Shops</media:title>
		</media:content>
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Monthly SMB Online Ad Spend</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/monthly-smb-online-ad-spend/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/monthly-smb-online-ad-spend/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 07 Aug 2008 11:00:30 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Palore</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online directories]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales leads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=99</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A couple of weeks ago, at SMX Local &#38; Mobile in San Francisco, our CEO, Hanan Lifshitz, presented some of our data pointing to various opportunities for online marketers who provide services for SMBs.
 
For creating the following chart we looked at over 6,000 businesses on leading online directories, from these categories: beauty &#38; fitness, photographers, [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=99&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><div>A couple of weeks ago, at SMX Local &amp; Mobile in San Francisco, our CEO, Hanan Lifshitz, presented some of our data pointing to various opportunities for online marketers who provide services for SMBs.</div>
<div> </div>
<div>For creating the following chart we looked at over 6,000 businesses on leading online directories, from these categories: beauty &amp; fitness, photographers, landscapers and limousine services. The chart shows ad spend information on LA &amp; SF online advertisers from the above categories. </div>
<div> </div>
<div><span style="font-size:small;font-family:Times New Roman;"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-105" style="border:black 1px solid;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/monthly-ad-spend-for-greg2.png?w=445&#038;h=400" alt="" width="445" height="400" /></span></div>
<div><span style="font-size:small;font-family:Times New Roman;"> </span></div>
<div>Note that since there are advertisers who pay a monthly fee for a placement package or various features in addition to a PPC add, the total of this chart is a little over 100%.</div>
<div> </div>
<div>The information for the above chart was collected while working on a sales leads project for one of our customers. We provide ad spend and advertising package information to companies who sell online marketing services directly to SMBs. Our customers find that knowing how much SMBs spend on online advertising and what kind of products they purchase can dramatically improve sales conversion rates. For example, companies that sell high-end online ad services, like video, found it&#8217;s very effective to target SMBs who are already spending more than $300 a month on online advertising.</div>
<div> </div>
<div>For more about <a href="http://www.palore.com/leads">Palore&#8217;s Sales Leads Service </a>or for ordering a custom project, <a href="http://www.palore.com/">contact us here</a>.</div>
<div> </div>
<img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/categories/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/tags/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/99/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/99/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/99/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/99/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/99/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/99/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=99&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/monthly-smb-online-ad-spend/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">palore2</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/monthly-ad-spend-for-greg2.png" medium="image" />
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Online Presence of SMBs – Target the Right Prospects</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/online-presence-of-smbs-%e2%80%93-target-the-right-prospects/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/online-presence-of-smbs-%e2%80%93-target-the-right-prospects/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 25 Jul 2008 07:12:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[claimed businesses]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online directories]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online presence]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales leads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=84</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In a project we recently did for one of our customers, we looked at whether or not SMBs claim their business listing on various online directories. Owners of SMBs can claim their listings on online business directories relatively easily: they add information such as opening hours and special offers to their basic listings. The chart [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=84&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p>In a project we recently did for one of our customers, we looked at whether or not SMBs claim their business listing on various online directories. Owners of SMBs can claim their listings on online business directories relatively easily: they add information such as opening hours and special offers to their basic listings. The chart below shows the results of our analysis among Health &amp; Beauty online advertisers and non-advertisers in the West Coast:</p>
<p><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-90" style="border:black 1px solid;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/claimed-businesses-for-post-31.png?w=446&#038;h=392" alt="" width="446" height="392" /></p>
<p>It&#8217;s no surprise that 45% of businesses who advertise online also claim their business listing on various online directories.</p>
<p>It&#8217;s interesting that as many as 18% of the non-advertisers we looked at invested the time in claiming their listing on various online business directories; they recognize the importance and value of online presence and visibility. This data suggests that there is an opportunity here among non-advertising SMBs &#8211; catch the ones who know the value of online visibility and convert them to advertising customers.</p>
<p>Targeting the right leads increases sales conversion rates. Palore can provide comprehensive analyses of SMBs&#8217; online behavior and point to various opportunities that derive from these analyses. If you want to know more about our <a href="http://www.palore.com/leads">Sales Leads Service </a>or if you&#8217;re interested in a custom project, <a href="http://www.palore.com/">contact us here</a>.</p>
<img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/categories/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/tags/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/84/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/84/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/84/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/84/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/84/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/84/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=84&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/online-presence-of-smbs-%e2%80%93-target-the-right-prospects/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/claimed-businesses-for-post-31.png" medium="image" />
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Where are SMBs Advertising these Days?</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/where-are-smbs-advertising-these-days/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/where-are-smbs-advertising-these-days/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 15 Jun 2008 14:40:20 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[IYP]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Local sites]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Vertical sites]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=76</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Our previous post featured statistics on attorneys who advertise on Internet Yellow Pages sites. While working on several projects for customers in the food &#38; dining and nightlife verticals, we gathered initial advertising data from 30 leading local, vertical and IYP (Internet Yellow Pages) sites.
We stumbled upon some interesting facts regarding SMBs online advertising patterns. [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=76&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p><a href="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/boston-restaurants-online-advertising-final.png"></a>Our previous post featured statistics on attorneys who advertise on Internet Yellow Pages sites. While working on several projects for customers in the food &amp; dining and nightlife verticals, we gathered initial advertising data from 30 leading local, vertical and IYP (Internet Yellow Pages) sites.</p>
<p>We stumbled upon some interesting facts regarding SMBs online advertising patterns. We focused on whether Boston restaurants and NYC night clubs advertise on a single site* or on multiple sites.</p>
<p>The following two charts show the results:</p>
<p><img class="size-full wp-image-78" style="border:1px solid black;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/boston-restaurants-online-advertising-final.png?w=473&#038;h=402" alt="" width="473" height="402" /></p>
<p> </p>
<p><img class="size-full wp-image-79" style="border:1px solid black;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/nyc-clubs-online-advertising-final.png?w=471&#038;h=376" alt="" width="471" height="376" /></p>
<p>* By &#8220;single site&#8221; we mean that the advertiser has elected only to advertise on one site &#8211; not that only one site is the preferred choice of all &#8220;single site&#8221; advertisers.</p>
<p>It wasn&#8217;t very surprising to see that most of the businesses in the verticals we looked at advertise on a single site, e.g. 74% percent of online advertisers among Boston restaurants. Also, it was interesting to see that the number of businesses that advertise on multiple sites is larger than we expected, e.g. as many as 13% of online advertisers among Boston restaurants advertise on 2 sites. An additional 13% advertise on 3 sites or more amounting to a little over a quarter of Boston online advertising restaurants that advertise on more than a single site.</p>
<p>There may be an opportunity here for local search sites to approach local business owners who advertise only on one site and interest them in larger, potentially more effective campaigns &#8211; Palore offers such sales lead services.</p>
<p>Another interesting point about the data we&#8217;ve extracted is that despite the differences between the target audiences of Boston restaurants and NYC clubs, the advertising patterns seem very similar.</p>
<p>As always, we&#8217;d love to hear what interests you. <a href="http://www.palore.com/">Contact us here</a> to suggest analyses or order a custom project.</p>
<img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/categories/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/tags/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/76/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/76/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/76/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/76/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/76/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/76/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=76&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/where-are-smbs-advertising-these-days/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/boston-restaurants-online-advertising-final.png" medium="image" />

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/nyc-clubs-online-advertising-final.png" medium="image" />
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Analysis of Online Advertising among Small Businesses (SMB’s)</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/analysis-of-online-advertising-among-small-businesses-smb%e2%80%99s/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/analysis-of-online-advertising-among-small-businesses-smb%e2%80%99s/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 12:28:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ad networks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[IYP]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=66</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[
Many small local businesses (SMB&#8217;s) advertise online &#8211; on Internet Yellow Pages sites (IYP&#8217;s), local search sites (e.g. CitySearch, Local.com, etc.) and online publications (daily newspapers, city guides, etc).

We&#8217;ve recently started analyzing the data we aggregate from several advertising channels and there is an abundance of interesting information out there.
With the tools we&#8217;re developing, we [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=66&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><div class="MsoNormal" style="margin:0;">
<div class="MsoNormal" style="margin:0;">Many small local businesses (SMB&#8217;s) advertise online &#8211; on Internet Yellow Pages sites (IYP&#8217;s), local search sites (e.g. CitySearch, Local.com, etc.) and online publications (daily newspapers, city guides, etc).</div>
</div>
<p>We&#8217;ve recently started analyzing the data we aggregate from several advertising channels and there is an abundance of interesting information out there.<br />
With the tools we&#8217;re developing, we can produce detailed reports on advertising activities of SMB&#8217;s online. A good example of such a report would be a list of plumbers who advertise online in California.</p>
<p>At the request of several of our customers, we have begun to turn our attention to Internet Yellow Pages sites. In general, IYP&#8217;s offer businesses 2 types of listings: <strong>free</strong> listings that usually contain only the basics like name, address and phone number and <strong>paid</strong> listings with more details and better placement.</p>
<p>Here are a couple of examples of the initial data we can expect. We took a look at attorneys listed on IYP&#8217;s &#8211; the charts show the percentage of paid listings out of all listings (free + paid) in a number of categories.</p>
<p><img class="size-full wp-image-67" style="border:black 1px solid;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/la-attorneys7a.png?w=471&#038;h=399" alt="" width="471" height="399" /><br />
This initial analysis of our sample data shows that the number of attorneys who purchase online advertising packages on IYP&#8217;s varies as we look at different types of legal practices. In LA, for instance, out of attorneys listed and categorized on IYPS&#8217;s, there is a higher percentage of advertisers among accident &amp; personal injury attorneys than among criminal law attorneys.</p>
<div>
<p>In NYC, the highest percentage of attorneys listed on IYP&#8217;s who purchased advertising packages was among bankruptcy attorneys.</p>
<p><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-68" style="border:black 1px solid;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/nyc-attorneys7a.png?w=469&#038;h=399" alt="" width="469" height="399" /><a href="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/nyc-attorneys7a.png"></a></p>
<p>We can, as shown in the samples above, perform analyses on several local markets and provide nationwide analyses on various categories of small businesses.</p>
<p>We&#8217;re very excited about where these new analyses can take us and we&#8217;d love to hear what interests you. <a href="http://www.palore.com/">Contact us here</a> to suggest analyses or order a custom analytics project.</p>
<p> </p></div>
<img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/categories/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/tags/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/66/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/66/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/66/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/66/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/66/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/66/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=66&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/analysis-of-online-advertising-among-small-businesses-smb%e2%80%99s/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/la-attorneys7a.png" medium="image" />

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/nyc-attorneys7a.png" medium="image" />
	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Boston Restaurants Connect with Consumers Online</title>
		<link>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/boston-restaurants-connect-with-consumers-online/</link>
		<comments>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/boston-restaurants-connect-with-consumers-online/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 May 2008 18:31:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Hanan Lifshitz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food & Dining]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Local sites]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEO]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SMB]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://palore.wordpress.com/?p=54</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[While collecting information on businesses in the food &#38; dining vertical we&#8217;ve come across many interesting details about restaurants; one of these details is a restaurant&#8217;s website.
Many restaurants use websites to interact with their customers. In fact, a recent online poll by AIS Media shows that &#8220;89% of consumers have researched a restaurant online prior [...]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=54&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class='snap_preview'><br /><p>While collecting information on businesses in the food &amp; dining vertical we&#8217;ve come across many interesting details about restaurants; one of these details is a restaurant&#8217;s website.</p>
<p>Many restaurants use websites to interact with their customers. In fact, a <a href="http://restaurantcoachingsolutions.com/89-of-consumers-research-online-before-selecting-a-restaurant/">recent online poll by AIS Media</a> shows that &#8220;89% of consumers have researched a restaurant online prior to visiting a restaurant, and 57% of customers said that they check out the restaurant&#8217;s website.&#8221;</p>
<p>It was therefore interesting to find that percentages of restaurants operating a website vary from one city to another, and that the city with the largest percentage of restaurants with websites is Boston.</p>
<p> The following chart shows our statistics:</p>
<p> <img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-57" style="border:black 1px solid;" src="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/websites-of-restaurants-updated.png?w=476&#038;h=328" alt="Percentage of restaurants operating a website - updated" width="476" height="328" /></p>
<p>With 33% of restaurants operating a website in Boston and 21% in LA &amp; NYC, a Boston restaurant is 57% more likely to operate a website</p>
<p>We haven&#8217;t had the chance to go into what each restaurant offers on its site. However, a quick examination of other attributes such as online menu shows that Boston restaurants lead the chart with more online presence. Be sure to check out our coming posts to get the figures for more comparisons.</p>
<p>As always &#8211; if you think of other criteria or data comparisons you&#8217;d find interesting, please share your thoughts with us.</p>
<p>To order rich local business content in any vertical, contact <a href="http://www.palore.com/">Palore</a>&#8217;s sales team.</p>
<img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/categories/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/tags/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/palore.wordpress.com/54/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godelicious/palore.wordpress.com/54/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/delicious/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gostumble/palore.wordpress.com/54/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/stumble/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/godigg/palore.wordpress.com/54/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/digg/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /></a> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/goreddit/palore.wordpress.com/54/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/reddit/palore.wordpress.com/54/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=palore.wordpress.com&blog=535383&post=54&subd=palore&ref=&feed=1" /></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://palore.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/boston-restaurants-connect-with-consumers-online/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
	
		<media:content url="" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Hanan Lifshitz</media:title>
		</media:content>

		<media:content url="http://palore.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/websites-of-restaurants-updated.png" medium="image">
			<media:title type="html">Percentage of restaurants operating a website - updated</media:title>
		</media:content>
	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>